The Hong Kong University Students’ Union (HKUSU) is a non-profit organisation established in 1912 serving more than 16,000 students of the University of Hong Kong.

Of the highest authority of the Union are the General Meeting (GM) and the General Polling (GP), the quorum of both of which is 10% of all full members. Second highest in authority is the Union Council , which afford a recognised means of communication between the general student body and university authorities. An Executive Committee, elected in the way of Annual Election, acts as the execution body for HKUSU.

The aims of the Union, which lay in its constitution, are:

One

To promote the welfare of the
student body;

Two

To act as a bridge between the student body and the University authority in furthering the interests of the students and the University as a whole;

Three

To identify the student body with social issues in the interests of the people of Hong Kong;

Four

To represent the student body both locally and internationally.

Student bodies of HKUSU include campus media and around 130 affiliated student organisations. These students bodies are categorised into five main groups: Faculty and Academic Societies, Hall Students’ Associations, Sports Clubs (forming

Sports Association, HKUSU), Cultural Clubs (forming Cultural Association, HKUSU) and Independent Clubs (forming Independent Clubs Association, HKUSU).

The Hong Kong University Students’ Union

General Meeting

 

General Polling

Union Executives (Contact us)

 

Campus Media
(Undergrad, Campus TV)

 
The University of Hong Kong in 1912
History of the Union

In 1912, the Hong Kong University Students’ Union was founded. It was first named as the Hong Kong University Union (HKUU). In 1945, the Union was re-organised after the Second World War, and was renamed as Hong Kong University Students’ Society (HKUSS). In 1949, the Union was registered as an independent student organisation in Hong Kong.

The first committee
& its members

When the Union was first established, the Governors of Hong Kong took up the post of President of the Union. Back then, the Union only had three executive committee members, which were the Chairperson, the Honorary Secretary, and the Financial Secretary.

The Council consisted of two independent members in addition to one teaching staff and one student representative from Arts Association, Medical Society, Engineering Society, and Sports Association respectively.

There was also a Business Manger and an Editorial Board, which consisted of an Editor-in-Chief and an Assistant Editor-in-Chief.

Today’s committee
& its members

In 1945, the first popularly elected executive committee was elected.

Today, the Union consists of 13 executive committee members, namely the President, Vice-Presidents (Internal and External), General Secretary, Financial Secretary, External Affairs Secretaries, Student Welfare Secretary, Publications and Publicity Secretary, Current Affairs Secretary, Administrative Secretary, and the Presidents from the Sports Association, Cultural Association and Independent Clubs Association ex-officio.

Location for meeting
or gathering

The Union was first located in the Students’ Union Building (later renamed Hung Hing Ying Building and declared a historic monument) when it was found. In 1949, a three-storey Union Building was established next to the Main Library. The Union Building was relocated to the Composite Building in the West Gate in October 1985.

The Union Building has now developed into a multi-purpose area where various facilities are offered for students. There are function rooms, restaurants, a co-op store which sells stationery and souvenirs, and a spacious common area for leisure and gathering purposes.

香港大學學生會成立於一九一二年,是一個服務超過一萬六千名會員的非牟利組織。

全民大會全民投票是學生會的最高權力架構,兩者的法定人數均是全數基本會員的 10%。香港大學學生會評議會 則是學生會的最高權力常設機關,集立法、行政及司法於一身,由各院會代表、舍堂宿生會代表、校園傳媒代表,以及每年經由周年大選選出的幹事會和普選評議員組成。

根據香港大學學生會的憲章,學生會的宗旨為:

為同學提供福利;

作為同學和校方之間的橋樑,
以保障同學和學校的整體利益;

樹立學生團體在社會的角色,
促進香港發展;

在本地及國際事務上代表全體同學。

學生會的學生組織包括校園傳媒及約一百三十個屬會,當中分為五個類別,包括十個學院的院會及其學術屬會舍堂學生會體育屬會(組成體育聯會)、文化屬會(組成文化聯會)及學社屬會(組成學社聯會)。

香港大學學生會

全民大會

 

全民投票

香港大學學生會評議會

評議員名單

中央幹事會聯絡我們

 

校園傳媒學苑校園電視

 
1912 年的香港大學
港大學生會歷史

香港大學學生會 (HKUSU) 成立於 1912 年,前身為香港大學聯會 (HKUU)。
1945 年,學生會從第二次世界大戰後重新組織,當時命名為香港大學學生聯會 (HKUSS)。1949 年,香港大學學生會正式註冊為一個獨立社團組織。

第一屆幹事

學生會成立初期,學生會會長由港督出任,而幹事會只有主席、秘書及財政三人而已。

學生會另設評議會,有獨立會員二人,以及文學院學生會、醫學會、工程學會及體育聯會代表各二人,均為師生各一。

此外亦設有編委會,有編輯、助理編輯以及業務經理各一人。

現時幹事

1945 年,第一屆經由普選產生的學生會幹事成功當選。

學生會現時共有 13 名幹事,包括會長、內務副會長、外務副會長、常務秘書、財務秘書、外務秘書、學生福利秘書、出版及宣傳秘書、時事秘書、行政秘書,以及體育聯會、文化聯會和學社聯會會長(當然幹事)。

集會地點

學生會成立初期,總部設於學生會大樓(後易名為孔慶熒樓,並成為法定古蹟)。1949 年,三層高的學生會大樓矗立在圖書館大樓側。1985 年 10 月,學生會總部遷往西翼綜合大樓。

學生會現時已發展成一個多功能的地方,為同學提供全面的福利和設施,如多用途活動室、餐廳、售買文具和紀念品的合作社,以及寬敞的休閒區作休憩及集會之用。